10 · LIBERTY8 min

SUMTER FIELD DESK

Liberty Data Centers

Who is the company behind the proposal?

Compiled: July 26, 2026. Updated: August 8, 2026, with the company's first public appearance in Americus. Method: primary sources only - domain registration records (RDAP), the company's own website source code, the Internet Archive, DNS records, the published pages of a third-party investor, and the recording of a public meeting. Every finding below is reproducible by anyone with a browser. Items that could not be verified are listed separately under "Not established" and "Blocked".

This note addresses one of the gaps named in the report README: who is behind the proposal. As of August 4, 2026 that gap is largely closed: Tony and Paul Di Benedetto, of Toronto, answered for Liberty at a public meeting in Americus, and Tony Di Benedetto's firm is the investor named in the documentary trail below. What remains open is narrower and more specific - the company itself still publishes no officer, no project, and no corporate registration that could be located.

Three companies, one project

The contracts name different entities, and the difference is on the record.

EntityWhere it appearsForm
Liberty GA USA LLCSigned the development agreement July 1, 2026; took title by deed July 22, 2026A Georgia limited liability company, per the deed
Liberty Data Centers Corp.The buyer in the purchase and sale agreementA corporation organized in Ontario, Canada, per ¶8(a)
Liberty Data CentersThe public brand: website, LinkedIn, press releasesNo legal form stated anywhere

The purchase agreement sends notices to Tony Di Benedetto at 76 Creedmore Court, Kleinburg, Ontario, with Krevolin & Horst of Atlanta as counsel. That is the first primary document naming him as the contact for a Liberty contract, rather than as a speaker at a meeting or a name on an investor's portfolio page.

Paragraph 16 of that agreement permits assignment to an affiliate on 30 days' written notice, which is the ordinary way an Ontario buyer's rights become a Georgia LLC's title. The assignment notice itself has not been located.

Still not published by the company: officers, directors, owners, or a corporate registration for any of the three.

Identity at a glance

ItemRecord
Company nameLiberty Data Centers
Websitewww.libertydatacenters.com
Domain registered2026-01-27 (16:38:08 UTC)
Domain expires2027-01-27 - a one-year registration
Registrar / DNSHover (Tucows); ns1.hover.com, ns2.hover.com
Current site published2026-06-24 (11:09:31 UTC), per the page's own build stamp
Site built withFigma Make - the HTML carries the comment <!-- Created in Figma Make -->
Stated founding dateNone given on the website or LinkedIn
Earliest self-claimed eventSeed funding round, announced January 15, 2026
Named officers or staffNone published anywhere
Spoke for the company in AmericusTony and Paul Di Benedetto, of Toronto, at the community meeting of August 4, 2026
Corporate registrationNot located (see "Blocked")
Press-release datelineMiami
Published contactinfo@libertydatacenters.com; (844) 904-3480
Copyright line© 2026 Liberty Data Centers
Employee count (LinkedIn)2-10
LinkedIn followers8

Timeline of the documented record

Every documented event in Liberty Data Centers' public record, January to July 2026. Five events: seed funding announced January 15, domain registered January 27, consultancy engaged February 12, website published June 24, and the Americus council meeting July 23, with a 132-day gap between February 12 and June 24. EVERY DOCUMENTED EVENT IN THE PUBLIC RECORD · 2026 JAN 15 · Seed funding round announced JAN 27 · Domain registered FEB 12 · Consultancy engaged JUN 24 · Current website published JUL 23 · Americus council meeting JANFEBMAR APRMAYJUN JUL 132 DAYS · NO PUBLIC ANNOUNCEMENTS OF ANY KIND
Sources, left to right: the company's own /news page (Jan 15, Feb 12); Verisign RDAP registration record (Jan 27); the published site's own build stamp (Jun 24); Americus Times-Recorder (Jul 23). Same data as the table below.
DateEventSource of the date
Jan 15Press release: seed funding round completed (Miami dateline)Company /news page
Jan 27Domain libertydatacenters.com registeredVerisign RDAP
Feb 12Press release: real-estate consultancy engaged (Miami dateline)Company /news page
No further public announcements of any kind
Jun 24Current website publishedbundleCreationDate in the page's own source
Jul 23-24Flyers circulating in Americus; City Council meeting; Times-Recorder reportAmericus Times-Recorder
Aug 4Tony and Paul Di Benedetto answer for Liberty at the community meeting - the company's first public appearance in AmericusThe meeting recording

The seed-funding announcement of January 15 predates the registration of the company's domain by 12 days. The chart above covers January to July, the period of the documentary record; the August 4 appearance has its own section below.

The website

FindingDetail
Total pagesFour: /, /about, /news, /team
Projects or portfolio pageNone exists
Named projects, sites, or clientsNone appear anywhere on the site
Mentions of Americus, Sumter County, or GeorgiaNone
Search-engine indexingDisabled - the site sets <meta name="robots" content="noindex">
Team page content"Team profiles coming soon... We're putting the finishing touches on our team page."
Contact formShips with unedited placeholder values your@email.com and (555) 123-4567
Meta description (site-wide)"Liberydatacenter offers reliable web hosting solutions for businesses and individuals, ensuring fast performance, robust security, and 24/7 support."
DNS TXT / SPF recordsNone published
MailHover shared hosting (mx.hover.com.cust.hostedemail.com)

The meta description quoted above misspells the company name and describes web hosting rather than data-center development. It is the text that appears in search results and link previews.

Internet Archive

QueryResult
Captures of the current siteZero
Captures of the domain, all timeOne, dated 2021-12-09
Content of that 2021 captureA 2,548-byte page reading "For full functionality of this site it is necessary to enable JavaScript" - no company content

The 2021 capture predates the January 2026 registration, so it belongs to a previous registrant of the same domain name.

Claims the company makes about itself

ClaimWhere it appearsStatus
"35 years experience, 500+ MW developed across the United States"Only inside the <meta name="description"> tag of the home and about pages. It does not appear in any visible page text.Referent unstated; no supporting project list published
"A leading data center development firm"Home page, about page, both press releasesSelf-description
"Our leadership team brings decades of experience across technology, infrastructure, capital markets, and data center development."Home pageNo individual is named
Completion of a seed funding roundPress release, Jan 15, 2026Amount, lead investor, and participants not disclosed
Engagement of "a leading United States commercial real estate consultancy firm"Press release, Feb 12, 2026Firm not named
Cooling system "filled one time with only minor top-offs"; will not "use millions of gallons of water every day"Flyer circulated in Americus, reported by the Americus Times-RecorderNot accompanied by a published cooling design; see note 02, Water
"Georgia Power has made it clear that the project is responsible for all costs required to deliver the power and infrastructure to the campus. No burden will be put on anyone except for Liberty."Same flyerA claim about a third party; confirmable directly with Georgia Power

The two press releases

Release 1Release 2
DateJanuary 15, 2026February 12, 2026
DatelineMiamiMiami
SubjectSeed funding round completedReal-estate consultancy engaged
Dollar figure disclosedNoNo
Counterparty namedNoNo
Spokesperson quotedNoNo
Carried by any newswireNoNo
Carried by any trade publicationNoNo
LocationCompany's own /news page onlyCompany's own /news page only

Nothing has been published by the company since February 12, 2026. Searches of general web, trade press (Data Center Dynamics, Data Center Frontier) and newswire services returned no independent coverage of Liberty Data Centers in any jurisdiction.

LinkedIn company page

FieldValue
Followers8
Company size2-10 employees
Company type"Self-Owned"
Industry"Community Development and Urban Planning"
FoundedBlank
HeadquartersBlank
Associated peopleNone listed

The investor: Launch Capital Inc.

Launch Capital Inc. (Toronto) lists Liberty Data Centers as the first entry in its published portfolio.

EvidenceDetail
Portfolio listinglaunchcapital.ca/portfolio names Liberty Data Centers
Shared textLaunch Capital's description of Liberty is a word-for-word match to a string in libertydatacenters.com's own JavaScript bundle: "Liberty Data Centers is a leading data center development firm specializing in state-of-the-art facilities from concept to completion. From site selection and power procurement to greenfield construction and brownfield redevelopment, Liberty delivers turnkey solutions that meet the evolving needs of hyperscalers, enterprises, and colocation providers."
Page titleThe portfolio page's HTML title is "Portfolio - Tony Di Benedetto - Launch Capital"
Firm's self-description"A Toronto based advisory services firm which provides strategic growth capital and advisory services"
Domain registeredlaunchcapital.ca, 2017-11-30
Internet Archive captures of the portfolio pageZero - so the date Liberty was added to it cannot be established

Launch Capital's team

NameRoleAs described on the firm's site
Tony Di BenedettoCEO"The firm is led by Canadian technology entrepreneur Tony Di Benedetto. Tony has been active since the early 1990's in the Canadian technology space"
Justin Di BenedettoAssociate"over 5 years" at the firm; capital markets and investor relations
Brianna Di BenedettoAssociateJoined "following the completion of her studies in law"

Ventures listed on the Launch Capital portfolio page

All descriptions are the firm's own. Entries marked ● are data-center businesses.

YearVentureSectorStated outcome
1996Millennium Data SystemsSystems integrationGrew to $50M+ revenue, 75 employees; divested 2005
2001MDS WirelessWireless broadband, OntarioDivested to a private equity firm, 2005
2009● Data Centers CanadaToronto colocation & disaster recoveryDivested to Terago Networks (TSX:TGO), May 2013; "ROI of ~1900% in 3.5 years"
2013● Data Centre RealtyData centre design/build, Canada"Assisted in the development of several data centre projects globally"
2014Drone Delivery Canada (TSX.V: FLT)Drone logisticsReached $500M+ market cap; raised $90M+; Air Canada partnership
NuGen Medical Devices (TSX.V: NGMD)Medical devicesTaken public via RTO, raised $6M+
SyntheiaConversational AIDi Benedetto is CEO and Chairman
● BOLTData center operator"Transforms under utilized, energy-enabled assets into high-performance compute hubs for AI, crypto, and quantum"
Corsa Media GroupAutomotive media
2026Liberty Data CentersData center developmentNo outcome stated

Documented durations, in years

Four durations compared, in years: the "35 years experience" claim in Liberty's meta tag at 35.0; Tony Di Benedetto active "since the early 1990's" at about 35; the launchcapital.ca domain at 8.7 years; and the libertydatacenters.com domain at 0.5 years. DURATIONS ON THE RECORD, IN YEARS · AS OF JUL 26 2026 "35 years experience" · Liberty meta tag Di Benedetto · "since the early 1990's" launchcapital.ca domain age libertydatacenters.com domain age 35.0 ~35 8.7 0.5 010 2030 YEARS
The 35-year figure in Liberty's meta tag has no stated referent. Launch Capital separately describes Tony Di Benedetto as active "since the early 1990's," which is the same span; the two are plotted together for comparison, not because a link between them is documented. Domain ages are from the registries. Same data as the table below.
MeasureYearsSource
"35 years experience" - Liberty meta description35.0libertydatacenters.com page source
Di Benedetto "active since the early 1990's" - Launch Capital~35launchcapital.ca team page
Age of launchcapital.ca domain8.7CIRA registry, registered 2017-11-30
Age of libertydatacenters.com domain0.5Verisign registry, registered 2026-01-27

August 4, 2026: the company answers in person

At the community meeting of August 4, Tony and Paul Di Benedetto, of Toronto, were in the back of the room, were called forward, and answered for Liberty. It is the first time anyone has spoken for the company at a public event in Americus. Everything in this section is what they said in the room; the recording is on this site and is the record.

That closes the gap this note opened with. Launch Capital Inc. is a Toronto firm; it is Tony Di Benedetto's firm by its own team page and page title; it lists Liberty Data Centers as the first entry in its published portfolio; and Tony Di Benedetto came to Americus and answered for Liberty in person. The people behind the proposal are Launch Capital's people.

Two things it does not settle. It does not establish what office, if any, either man holds in Liberty GA USA LLC - speaking for a company at a public meeting is not the same as being its officer, and no corporate filing naming anyone has been retrieved; the searches that would settle it are listed under "Blocked" below. And Paul Di Benedetto is not named on Launch Capital's published team page, which lists Tony as CEO and Justin and Brianna Di Benedetto as associates, so his role in either company rests on his own account of it.

What they said on August 4What the record shows
They were brought in about eighteen months to two years ago to put capital and technical help into a bitcoin data center already operating in Americus that was going to shut downNot independently checked, but it matches a business Launch Capital already publishes. Its portfolio lists BOLT, a data center operator that "transforms under utilized, energy-enabled assets into high-performance compute hubs for AI, crypto, and quantum" - the same pattern, described in the firm's own words
They have made ten to fifteen trips to Americus sinceNot independently checked
Conversations with local economic development turned into this proposalThe agreement with the Payroll Development Authority is dated July 1, 2026
The build is about $5 billion, with perhaps $10 billion of customer equipment inside itNo investment figure of any size appears in the agreement, which commits four phases, a 30-year operating covenant, and 150 jobs
It is small by industry standards, not a 400 MW Meta or Google campusNo megawatt figure has been published anywhere, by the company or in the agreement
They are not using waterNo cooling design has been published. §11 of the agreement bars open-loop cooling but does not cap consumption, and a closed circuit can still evaporate - see note 02
They have a customerThe customer was not named. The end user of the compute remains the largest open question in this report
If they do not spend what they said and create the jobs they said, they give the land back and pay a substantial premium over what they paidThey paid $1.00. The agreement's only monetary remedy for default is reimbursement of the land's agreed $469,000 value, in two halves - see note 09

The room got heated and the organizers closed the meeting, saying the city and the company should hold one of their own.

Established, not established, and blocked

QuestionStatus
When the current website was createdEstablished - 2026-06-24
When the domain was registeredEstablished - 2026-01-27
That Launch Capital publicly claims Liberty as a portfolio companyEstablished - published on launchcapital.ca
That Launch Capital and Liberty share authored ad copyEstablished - verbatim string match
That Launch Capital is Tony Di Benedetto's firmEstablished - firm's own team page and page title
That the people behind Liberty are Launch Capital'sEstablished - Tony Di Benedetto, whose Toronto firm claims Liberty as its first portfolio entry, answered for Liberty in person at the August 4 community meeting, on the recording published here
When the company was legally formedNot established - a speaker from the floor on August 4 said Liberty Georgia USA was incorporated in Georgia in June, just before the land transfer; no filing has been retrieved to confirm it
Who its officers, directors, or owners areNot established - no name is published by the company anywhere, and no corporate filing has been retrieved
Whether Tony or Paul Di Benedetto holds any office in Liberty Data CentersNot established - speaking for a company at a public meeting is not the same as holding an office in it, and no filing has been located either way
Paul Di Benedetto's role in either companyNot established - he is not named on Launch Capital's published team page, which lists Tony as CEO and Justin and Brianna as associates
Who provided the seed fundingNot established - not disclosed
Which consultancy was engagedNot established - not named
Why the press releases carry a Miami dateline while Launch Capital is TorontoNot established
Any completed or in-progress project, anywhereNone located

Blocked to automated retrieval (each requires a person with a browser): Florida Sunbiz corporate search and Georgia Secretary of State eCorp search, both behind Cloudflare challenges; Tony Di Benedetto's personal LinkedIn profile (HTTP 999); OpenCorporates (API key required).

How to close the remaining gaps

  1. Florida corporate records. Search Sunbiz for "Liberty Data Centers." Both press releases are datelined Miami. A Florida filing would name the officers, the registered agent, and the formation date. This is the single highest-value document and it is free and public.
  2. Georgia corporate records. Search the Georgia Secretary of State business database for the same name, and for any entity registered as a foreign corporation doing business in Georgia.
  3. Syntheia's public filings. Syntheia is a publicly traded company with Tony Di Benedetto as CEO and Chairman. Directors and officers must disclose other directorships in the annual information form and management information circular, filed on SEDAR+. If he holds an office in Liberty Data Centers, it should be listed there.
  4. Ask on the record. Two men answered for the company at a community meeting on August 4, but no representative has been named on the record at a meeting of either governing body, and neither has stated the company's legal name, state of registration, or officers. At a council or commission meeting, ask: who are the principals of the entity seeking approval; under what legal name and in what state is it registered; who signed for Liberty GA USA LLC on July 1; and what is Launch Capital's relationship to it.
  5. Georgia Power. The flyer's statement that the project will bear all power-delivery costs is a claim about Georgia Power's position. Georgia Power can confirm or deny it directly.
  6. Sumter County / City of Americus. Request any correspondence, letter of intent, option agreement, or incentive application naming Liberty Data Centers or any affiliated entity. As of the July 23, 2026 council meeting, no permit application had been requested.

Sources